Cystic Fibrosis Transition Program

In 2007, our pediatric cystic fibrosis (CF) care center recognized the need for a formal transition process and subsequently developed a program called Journey to Independence.  Program objectives include:

  • Assess patients’ transition readiness
  • Offer opportunities for patients to discuss concerns and ask questions independent of parent input
  • Establish educational goals and create homework assignments to help patients meet those goals
  • Increase involvement with the adult care team. 

The Journey to Independence  program is comprised of five stages:

  • Scout (ages 8-10 years)
  • Explorer (ages 11-13)
  • Trail Guide (ages 14-15)
  • Deputy (age 16)
  • Park Ranger (ages 17-18). 

To date, we have implemented the Deputy and Park Ranger stages of the program. 

Each stage includes five components with specific educational objectives:

  • Understand CF
  • Respiratory
  • Nutrition
  • Treatment
  • Lifestyle

To obtain the objectives in each stage, patients are required to complete various age-appropriate homework assignments or hands-on activities.  There are a total of 25 assignments or activities throughout the program – five for each stage. 

Our ultimate goal is to transition highly educated, motivated and adherent patients, who can function independently when they first see our adult care counterparts.

For more information, contact Amy Shipp at 404-785-4447.